Tuna (salad) Salad & Chicken Cutlet Salad

I HATE when i run out of things to eat for dinner.  In a perfect world, I’d have a whole menu plan complete with 5 different recipes to try out every night of the week.  Of course… I do NOT live in that dream world… I live in a world where I’m on a budget, I have to workout after work is over and get home at 7pm (on an early day).  In that world, I’m LUCKY if I have an interesting dinner that’s not pre-planned all week.

Do you have nights like that?  Where you come home starving, with not much time to throw together a quick meal?  These nights have become my specialty.

A great solution to this problem is to throw together a nice big salad with a bunch of stuff you have in your kitchen already.  My salads on nights like these don’t always necessarily match or have homemade dressings or fancy cheeses… but they are fun, usually colorful, and a healthy way to end my night!

Tuna Salad Salad:  Baby Lettuce Mix, Grape Tomatoes, Mandarin Oranges, Olives, Blueberries, Blue Cheese, and a nice scoop of 1/2 Can Tuna Salad (using Canola Mayo and not very much of it).  I also topped this one off with “garlic bread” made from some leftover whole wheat burger buns from another meal.  I throw on some spray butter, salt, pepper, garlic powder & smoked paprika.  Stick it in the toaster.  Dee-lish.  To change it up- add some Frank’s Hot Sauce in your tuna… Dave LOVES this.  Top it all off with Ken’s Light Asian Sesame Dressing or just some Balsamic Vinegar.  

Chicken Cutlet Salad:  Baby Lettuce Mix, Grape Tomatoes, Mandarin Oranges, Olives, Roasted Red Peppers, Cherry Peppers, Feta Cheese, Carrots, one serving (5 lol) Fat Free Croutons, and 1 Low Fat Perdue Chicken Cutlet- cooked and chopped.  Top with Ken’s Light Northern Italian Dressing.  YUM!

One thought on “Tuna (salad) Salad & Chicken Cutlet Salad

Leave a comment