Chicken and Broccoli Fajitas

It’s been a while since I’ve done my go-to “when I dont feel like cooking but wanna eat something good” Fajita dinner.  Last night was one of these types of nights, getting home at 8pm (gag) and not having stopped at the grocery store.  Let’s throw everything into a big saute pan with some sauce and call it a night.

But like, how often do you find yourself doing this… whole throw it in a pot and see what happens… thing, and having it end up amazing?!  It’s not always about finding super-awesome recipes from Cooking Light or on Rachael Ray’s show, or even really pretty or creative ones on Pinterest… it’s about those random nights where you just do your own thang and it turns out AWESOME that are the best.  Like this meal, which I’ll call:

Chicken and Broccoli Fajitas

A recipe by:  It’s Good to be the Cook

Ingredients:

2 Chicken Breasts

Sea Salt & Pepper

1 Tablespoon Oil (I use Sunflower Seed Oil, you can use any kind)

1 Green Bell Pepper, cut into strips

2 Jalapeno Peppers, cut into rings (seed it if you don’t like spicy!)

1 Onion, cut in half then into thin slices

1 head Fresh Broccoli, cut into smaller florets

1 bag Frontera’s Classic Fajita Skillet Sauce

1 Can Light Red Kidney Beans

Garlic Salt

1/2 Avocado

Sour Cream

Cheddar Cheese 

Wheat Tortilla (Medium Size) Soft Shells

Directions:

 

 

1.  Heat the oil in a large skillet.  Add onions and cook for about 5 minutes until they become soft and are starting to brown.  Add the pepper and jalapenos.  Cook for another 5 minutes.  Add broccoli.  

2.  Meanwhile, spray a different pan with cooking spray, and cook the chicken on medium-high heat.  Sprinkle both sides with just a touch of salt and pepper.  

3.  When the chicken is finished cooking, cut it up into strips and add into the veggies.  Add the Fajita sauce and stir.  Cook for another few minutes over medium heat.

4.  In a separate pot, dump 1 can of beans (drained) and sprinkle some garlic salt.  (I did not measure, just do it by taste).  Heat over medium-high heat while stirring.  Test a bean and once they are hot take them off the stove and smash with a potato smasher.  They don’t have to all be mashed.  Put in a bowl on the side.

5.  Serve chicken/veggie mixture with the bean smash over warmed tortillas with Avocado, FF Sour Cream, and RF Cheddar.  Delish!

 

YUMMY!  I’ve been waiting to use this skillet sauce, since I got it from my Foodie Pen Pal back in May.  I really want to buy it again, it was so good.  I want to mention that while Broccoli isn’t typically found in fajitas- it was great in there.  First of all, the fresh broccoli soaked up tons of the yummy fajita sauce.  The broccoli was also great because it’s so big that it takes up a lot of room and will make you put less in your tortilla wrap!

The beans are awesome too- while they seem super simple… which they are… they taste great.  My friend Allie from www.AllIEatFood.com taught me how to make these beans with Black Beans, which I actually had run out of.  They’re just as good with the Kidney Beans.  They were a great healthy addition to bulk up the fajita.  (I’m currently wishing we had saved more while I’m eating the leftovers for lunch!)

 

What kind of great things have you made up without trying?  

This fajita had a ton of green in it! Here it is sizzling in my saute pan.

 

Two thumbs up for this easy to use sauce.

 

I served the veggie/chicken mix in a big bowl so everyone could take their own.

 

My dish- one tortilla with the beans, veggies, chicken, a SPRINKLE of Reduced Fat Cheese, 3 slices of Avocado, and a dollop (a ‘Daisy) of Fat Free Sour Cream. MMM!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment