The Ultimate Jewish Omelette

Check this recipe out on Foodie Friends Friday Linky Party!

If you didn’t believe me before when I told you how much I love eggs, do you believe me now? This is now my fourth Omelette post and tenth post about Eggs.  This is the best one yet. (Better than my Salami Omelette & the Portobello Omelette too!)

My family hosts the yearly “break-fast” (as in breaking the fast, not your morning meal) dinner after Yom Kippur, serving delicious bagels with your typical Jewish fix-ins… Lox, Whitefish Salad, Onions, Tomatoes, Cukes, etc.  This year we had tons of leftovers… YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!  Here’s where I went with it:

The Ultimate Jewish Omelette

A Recipe by:  It’s Good to be the Cook

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon Butter

3 slices of Onion, chopped

2 slices of tomato, chopped

3 slices Lox, chopped

2 Egg Whites & 1 Egg

2 Tablespoons Fat Free Cream Cheese

Ground Pepper

Directions:

1.  Melt the butter in a medium-sized pan (or just use spray) over medium heat.  Add the onions and stir until they start to soften/brown.  Add the lox and stir in with the onion.  Cook for another 4 minutes or so until the lox cooks (it will turn a lighter pink).  

2.  Meanwhile, scramble the eggs together with a teaspoon of water.  Pour over the cooking onion and lox.  Continue to cook over medium heat until the top is no longer runny or almost solid.  It may help to put a lid on, it will help steam the egg and cook the top half.

3.  Add the chopped tomatoes and using two spoons, dollop 2 Tablespoons of Fat Free Cream cheese as evenly as possible.  Fold the omelette in half and let sit for another minute or two so the cheese will melt.  Serve with some pepper.

YUMMY YUMMY!  I obviously already looooooove Lox/Eggs/Onions, but Dave had never tried it before.  He was pretty skeptical but enjoyed it too :).  The cream cheese was awesome and it got super melty/creamy.  MMM.

Pre-Flip

I couldn’t resist some good Jewish Rye and of course Whitefish Salad.

The onions were almost caramelized and look how creamy the cheese is!

I had big eyes and wanted to use some other leftovers and ended up eating this with a piece of Rye and Pumpernickel Toast w/ some Whitefish Salad… and (random) sauteed spinach.  If you’ve never tried Lox in your eggs, please do!  It sounds strange but it works.  I promise.  OH, and don’t add extra salt!  Lox is really salty as it is.

7 thoughts on “The Ultimate Jewish Omelette

  1. Bless you woman! I just finished a plate of heaven! The onions were sweet and caramelized, the lox, wonderfully salty, the trick of 1 whole egg & 2 egg whites made the omelet incredibly light and, the creaminess of the cream cheese brought it over the top. And……because I happened to have it in the house, a slice of rye toast with whitefish salad. I’m kvelling I tell you, kvelling!

  2. My Friday morning omelette:

    the idea is to use as many vegetables as possible (and while I limit myself to 2 eggs now, 5 was the usual). first, fry garlic, then add, in order, onion, celery, squash, bell pepper, fennel and tomato. that should be done on a low heat for 15 minutes. the beaten eggs are spiced with: pepper, cumin, paprika, dried dill and you can add to taste. i add just before dropping eggs on to fried vegetables diced coriander stalks and I add 2 sliced champignon mushrooms to the eggs to slightly soak as well.

    while on the light heat, some sliced yellow cheese could be added.

    turn off the heat and lit sit for 3 minutes before serving.

Leave a comment